Main Menu

President’s Cabinet Discusses Issues

Visit Us

Christopher Keating
Staff Writer

Unknown to many University of La Verne students is a group of ad­ministrators who play a vital role in the management of the institution during their weekly meetings.

Each Tuesday morning at 8:30 a.m., Dr. Armen Sarafian, ULV president, convenes the meeting of his Cabinet. While students are settling down to early morning lectures or finishing their breakfast in the din­ing hall, ULV administrators begin dealing with the nitty-gritty of a col­lege entering its 90th academic year.

Why a President’s Cabinet?

According to the recently up­dated ULV Policies and Procedure­s Manual, the purpose of the Presi­dent’s Cabinet is to “keep all members of the Cabinet informed about significant matters affecting the University; resolve any major concerns that would involve the in­stitution; give department heads an opportunity to bring their concerns, suggestions to the Cabinet; guide the President on decisions and recommendations from various governance groups; review agenda for Board of Trustees meetings; pro­vide an occasion for special guests to meet with the Cabinet; evaluate duties and assignments of Cabinet members; and examine administra­tive organization of the institution.”

“It enables me to get the com­posite thinking of all the ad­ministrators,” said Dr. Sarafian. He added that he is able to make much better decisions with the advice and counsel of the Cabinet.

Aside from the stated Cabinet responsibilities, Dr. Sarafian said that academic, personnel, financial and student policy matters are brought up before the group. During the last year, he said topics for discussion ranged from admission trends to the summer school in public high  school program, Build La Verne Day and fundraising for the institution. The Cabinet helped plan the Oct. 21, 1981, banquet  to honor the reknowned author Louis L’Amour, who received an honorary doctorate of letters degree from ULV.

Dr. Sarafian emphasized the team building aspect of the Cabinet which allows University operation to be more cohesive.

“When the Cabinet was less organized,” Dr. Sarafian said, “peo­ple felt left out of important events and actions.”

Dr. Sarafian said there is only one answer to describe his working relationship with the Cabinet. That answer came from his secretary, Evelyn Marschalk: “The best.”

Cabinet participants include Dr. Sarafian, Dr. Donald Clague, vice president for academic  affairs; Tom Hall, vice president for institutional advancement; Dr. Alton Morse, vice president for finance and business services; Dr. Jacqueline Powers Doud, dean of La Verne College; Dr. Sharon Wright, dean of student services; Dr. James Manolis, dean of the School of Continuing Education; Charles Doskow, dean of the College of Law; Virgil Wilkinson, personnel director;  Merlin Eisenbise, director of development; Dr. Garbis Der Yeghiayan, dean of the American   Armenian International College; and Ellsworth Johnson, associate dean of graduate studies.

Minutes of the Cabinet meetings are available from all department and division heads and at the University library in order for all students to become more aware of the activities of this virtually unknown organization.

Visit Us

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.