LV Athletes Receive Recognition At Fall Sports Award Ceremony

Christy Holland
Staff Writer

Student athletes were honored at the University of La Verne Fall Sports Award Banquet at the Church of the Brethren Fellowship Hall last Tuesday night.

Nancy Blickenstaff, director of women’s sports, presented lifetime passes to nine seniors who have competed on a varsity team for three consecutive years. Seniors who received this award were Fred Gomeztrejo, Robin Holland, Jeff Howe, Gary Koustic, Paul Martinez, Dan Olivera, Alex Salinas, Pam Sloan and Bill Szitkar. These seniors will receive the blanket award at the Spring Awards Banquet.

Jim Paschal, women’s volleyball coach, announced each member of his team and commended them all personally for their hard work. He reminded the group that the team is ranked number one going into the National Tournament, and he later commented, “I appreciate the fans’ support, and I look forward to hav­ing all of you on our side during the tournament.” Special awards for the team will be announced at a later date.

Soccer Head Coach David Gold­stein was next to honor the achieve­ments of his team. In addition to honoring each team member, Gold­stein presented special awards to a few exceptional players. Most inspirational was awarded to Don Todd. Most improved was Barry Morrow and receiving the coach’s award was Peter Gunby. Rich Nelson, Doug Werner and John Gates, and all members of the JV team, presented Assistant Coach Fred Bruce-Oliver with a t-shirt.

Cross Country Coach Tim Mor­rison recognized each of his team members and specified that there were actually two separate teams, men and women. Thelma Rubio and Terry Smith were voted most valuable players. The coaches award went to Debbie Juhrend and Terry Smith. Ann Grudzinski and Layne Heiny were voted most im­proved.

Ortmayer, the offensive backs’ coach, named his players and an­nounced that Greg Hopkins was voted most valuable of the offensive backs. Bill Shier, receiver coach, recognized each member of  his team and named Maurice Harper MVP.

Joe Davalos and Dwight Hana­walt, offensive line coaches, recognized their team and named Scott Shier most valuable offensive lineman.

Following a special tribute to the defensive team, Rex Huigens, de­fensive coordinator, announced his team and named Gomeztrejo MVP.

Monse Estrada, linebacker coach, paid special tribute to Olivera and Martinez. Estrada then went on to name Martinez most valuable line­backer.

Emmett Terrell, defensive line coach, announced his players after commenting that his group ranked as the top defensive unit in the con­ference. Jerry Redman, who made first team all conference and se­cond team all district, was named most valuable lineman.

Receiving Coaches Awards were Olivera and Koustic.

Christy Holland
Other Stories

Latest Stories

Related articles

Dinner reconnects baseball players

The baseball program held its First Pitch Banquet Dinner, on Tuesday in an effort to better acquaint the faculty, alumni, new baseball players and their families with one another before the baseball season starts.

ULV athletes take SCIAC honors

As the academic year comes to a close, the athletic teams of ULV also finish their seasons.

‘Pops’ Shier, former La Verne coach

Bill Shier, former assistant football coach and husband of Lou Ann Shier, Athletic Department business manager, died on Sunday, Sept. 21, of a heart attack at the age of 56.

Hundreds usher in new era celebration

by Jenny Bauer Feature Editor More than 750 people showed up at the annual New Era Banquet, held...