Main Menu

TV students win major awards

Visit Us

The University of La Verne communications department has a lot to brag about.

The department has received several awards for video productions produced by students and faculty.

“It speaks that we have good faculty, staff and students that are producing quality work,” said Shane Rodrigues, radio and TV operations manager.

LVTV-3, La Verne’s public access channel took home six WAVE awards for productions at the Alliance for Community Media West Region Conference.

Those awarded included Chelsea Sherier for Best Information Video; Joseph Valencia, Ray Kaptur, Evan Mobley and Adrianna Castillo for Best Experimental Program; Megan Montalvo and Angie Gangi for Best Magazine Program; Rodrigues and Armen Katchiguian for Best Live Show; Kim Bui for Best Station Promo; and Allison Farole for Best Community News Show.

Students and faculty also won awards from the Broadcast Education Association Festival.

ULV faculty members Mike Laponis, Don Pollock and Rodrigues won an award of excellence for a promotional video.

Sherier, Valencia, Kaptur, Mobley and Castillo also received BEA awards.

“It’s really great to be involved in a department with so much talent,” Taline Baghdadlian, senior television broadcast major, said.

Francine Gobert can be reached at

Visit Us

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.