Faculty, staff honored for service

Senior executive director of the San Fernando Valley campus Nelly Kazman accepts the Administrative Professional Employee of the Year Award during the Faculty and Staff Recognition Ceremony in the Athletic Pavilion May 10. The ceremony is an annual event recognizing and thanking the many employees who work for the University of La Verne. / photo by Christopher Mora

Erica Maurice
Staff Writer

On May 10 members of the University community gathered in Sports Science and Athletic Pavilion for the annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Ceremony.

The event was MC’d by Paul Alvarez, athletic training and education program director, and professor of movement and sports science.

“We have so many people to honor,” Alvarez said. “We are all in this together.”

Tiffany Ballesteros, human resources operations and communications manager, organized the ceremony.

“It was … a great event that started on time,” Ballesteros said.

Special awards included the Ellsworth Johnson Faculty Service Award, the University of La Verne Academy membership, La Verne Scholars Award, Excellence in Teaching award and emeritus recognition for retiring faculty.

Awards were also given for faculty who marked the milestones of five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years of employment.

Professor of Mathematics Michael Frantz, Director of International Student Services Jeffrey Nonemaker, Assistant Dean for Advising and Retention Services Carrie Lewis Hasse and Professor of Education Peggy Redman were all recognized for reaching the 30 year mark.

Professor of Movement and Sports Science Marilyn Oliver, Associate Dean of the College of Business and Public Management Rita Thakur, and Associate Director of the Campus Center Doug Waite were recognized for 35 years of service. Professor of Business Administration Jack McElwee was recognized for 40 years.

Special award winners included Alvarez, who to his surprise received the Ellsworth Johnson Faculty Service Award, which honors faculty members who show outstanding service to the community.

Kristin Howland, administrative assistant in the history-political science department, received the Classified Employee of the Year award.

“It means a lot because we all work really hard,” Howland said. “It’s too bad we could not give more because everyone deserves it in their own way.”

Nelly Kazman, senior executive director of the San Fernando Valley campus in Burbank, received the Administrative Professional Employee of the Year Award.

“I’m usually good at telling this stuff but they pulled one over on me,” Kazman said. “The best part is that my husband and daughter were here. That made it more special.”

Associate Professor of Political Science Gitty Amini and Professor of Psychology Dorie Richards received Excellence in Teaching awards.

And inductees into the La Verne Academy Associate Professor of Public Admini­stration Matthew Witt, and Professor of Law Kevin Marshall were inducted to the University of La Verne Academy – a recognition of their contribution to research in their respective fields.

Winners of the La Verne Scholars Award, receiving grants to support their research were Assistant Professor of Management Omid Furutan, Assistant Professor of Movement and Sports Science Megan Granquist, Associate Professor of Art History Jon Leaver, Assistant Professor of Chemistry Ricardo Morales and Assistant Professor of Psychology Rocio Rosales-Meza.

Retiring professors receiving emeriti recognition included professors William Bearley, Lawrence Machi, Robert Neher, retiring after 55 years, administrator emerita Jean Bjerke, administrator emeritus Michael Welch and administrator emeritus Philip Hofer.

Erica Maurice can be reached at erica.maurice@laverne.edu.

Christopher Mora

Related articles

Event highlights the importance of voting

The University held a panel discussion titled “Why Vote?” Oct. 27 at the Ludwick Center Sacred Space, where about 25 community members gathered to discuss the importance of voting with midterm elections just days away. 

Young voters embrace vote-by-mail option

Californians now have the option to vote by mail for every election. In an informal survey conducted at the University of La Verne, 20 undergraduate students were asked whether they vote in person, by mail – or at all.

Speaker considers E.U. peacekeeping role

The International Studies Institute sponsored a lecture Wednesday featuring Noelle Lenoir, a French international lawyer. Her talk titled “Europe Reborn: Taking Stock of the European Union’s Response to the War in Ukraine” was held in Morgan Auditorium at noon before an audience of about 30.

ULV honors staff and faculty’s hard work

Melanie Brown, executive assistant in the College of Arts and Sciences dean’s office, received the Administrative Professional Employee of the Year Award, which was presented by Associate Professor of Spanish Ann Hills, during the annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Ceremony on Sept. 16 in the Athletic Pavilion.
Exit mobile version