ASULV announces election victors

David Asbra and Selyna Ybarra were elected president and executive vice president of the Associated Students of the University of La Verne, respectively Wednesday.

“I was hopeful about winning, but there was no guaranteed victory,” Asbra said. “I knew going into it that it was going to be a challenge nonetheless. It feels good to know that the students thought we were the best candidates, and it feels good to know that people care about this school.”

Asbra, who will be succeeded by Ybarra, said he will now focus on external affairs rather than internal affairs.

He plans to meet with the President monthly and is looking forward to creating more transparency between students and faculty.

“I’m pretty excited, and I have many ideas that I’m ready to get started on right away,” Ybarra said.

The elected Senators at Large are Alyssa Navarro, Jordan Almeida, Diego Chavez, Lauren Crumbaker, Megan Keller, Nicole Cuadras, Richie Orozco and Welsy Tan.

Marina Youngblood and Joseph Eggers were elected Senators of the College of Arts and Sciences, and Garrett Moberg and David Jones were elected Senators of the College of Business and Public Management.

“It’s bittersweet for me, but it’s exciting. Each new year comes with new ideas,” said current president Bethie Ross.

—Alejandra Aguilar

Other Stories
Previous article
Next article

Latest Stories

Related articles

University to offer health certification programs

The University of La Verne and the Inland Empire Health Plan are partnering to create the IEHP Health Career Academy under the Randall Lewis Center for Entrepreneurship, Innovation, and Social Impact.

Convocation encourages inclusion and taking risks

University of La Verne students, faculty and staff filled the Johnson Family Plaza last Wednesday, awaiting the University’s annual Convocation.

Rico Nasty performs at Lavernapalooza

As a school year full of exams, stress and homework comes to a close, La Verne students celebrated with one another at the Fox Theater in Pomona with DJ Screwloose, Rubi Rose and headliner Rico Nasty at Lavernapalooza on May 4.

DIII Week kickstarts at Field Day

The Student Athlete Advisory Committee and Associated Students of University of La Verne hosted a field day in support of Division III week, Wednesday afternoon at Sneaky Park.