Top administrators resign amid enrollment downturn

University of La Verne President Devorah Lieberman on Monday announced the resignation of Vice President for Strategic Enrollment Management Mary Aguayo, effective Jan. 3 next year.

She also on Monday announced the resignation of University General Counsel Doajo Hicks, which was effective Sept. 30. 

The University provost, Kerop Janoyan, is currently on leave from his position, but he is  expected to return within the month, according to officials in his office. 

“We will … be using this time to examine all areas of the University related to the student lifecycle  – including retention, persistence, and degree completion – to ensure we continue to move in a direction that is grounded in student success, and the success of the University,” Lieberman wrote in her Monday email announcement.

Discussion of these changes in upper management and more were taken up by the Faculty Senate on Monday, during which time the concern of the University’s declining enrollment and revenues was also discussed. 

The University undershot its target enrollment of 5,800 students for this fall, with about 5,600 students currently registered, Roy Kwon, assistant provost of undergraduate programs, said during the Faculty Senate meeting. 

President Lieberman told the Senate that she is looking forward to working with faculty and other constituents on a “sustainability” plan to increase enrollment and improve the University’s financial health. 

—Vincent Matthew Franco and Anabel Martinez

Vincent Matthew Franco is a senior journalism major with a concentration in print and online journalism. He has been involved in journalism and print media in high school, community college and is now at the social media editor of the Campus Times and a staff photographer for the Campus Times and La Verne Magazine. He previously served as arts editor.

Anabel Martinez is a senior digital media major with a concentration in film and television, and a journalism minor. She serves as the managing editor overseeing all of the Campus Times sections and was previously editor-in-chief in Spring 2022.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Administrators reverse January interterm move to May

University of La Verne administrators have reevaluated their plan to move January interterm to May, and will no longer be moving forward with the change that had been set for the 2025-26 academic year.

Provost, president cancel three-day mandate

As part of their effort to show support for faculty governance, the president and the provost rescinded the controversial mandate – which had been written into 2023-2024 faculty contracts – requiring that full time faculty be on campus at least three days a week.

Students don’t want January Interterm moved to May

News of the University administration’s intention to eliminate January term and replace it with a similar May term starting in the 2025-26 academic year was an unpleasant surprise to  23 of 25 La Verne students who responded to an informal survey last week on campus. 

New President Mahdavi shares personal, presidential plans

Last week President Pardis Mahdavi shared who she is in- and outside of her career, how she plans to approach issues at the University and her goals now that she is in the presidency position, in an interview with the Campus Times.
Exit mobile version