Award Winners

Society of Professional Journalists 2005 Southern California Excellence in Journalism University of La Verne award winners

Campus Times

Best Newspaper:

• Second Place: Campus Times

Best News Story:

• First Place: Nila Priyambodo, “College students victims of credit”

• Second Place: Nila Priyambodo and Tracy Spicer, “ULV law school accreditation”

• Third Place: Chrissy Zehrbach and Tracy Spicer, “Athens campus closure”

• Honorable mention: Bailey Porter, “Morning after pill accessible”

Best Feature Story:

• First Place: Jessica Warden, “Blood, cells bring quick cash”

Best Sports Story:

• First Place: Steven Falls, “Obesity weighs heavy in football”

• Second Place: Steven Falls, “Renovation displaces athletic program”

Best Column:

• Third Place: Bailey Porter, “ Recalling sights and sounds of home”

Best Editorial:

• Second Place: Campus Times staff, “Commencement crisis coming”

Best News/Feature Photo:

• Honorable Mention: Reina Santa Cruz, “Two Timothys”

Best Sports Photo:

• First Place: Jenna Campbell, “Softball vs. Menlo”

• Third Place: Emmah Obradovich, “ Swimming vs. Caltech”

Best Editorial Cartoon/ Illusration:

• Third Place: Adam Omernik, “Iraq: Sooner or Later”


Best TV Feature Segment:

• First Place: Tim Ciancio, “ Maloof foundation”

• Second Place: Yesel Manrique, “Fairview Farms”

La Verne Magazine

Best Magazine General Excellence:

• First Place: La Verne Magazine, Winter 2005

Matt Paulson, Editor

• Second Place: La Verne Magazine, Summer 2005

Amby Sarabia, Editor

Best Magazine Non-Fiction Story

• First Place: Kenneth Todd Ruiz, “Not your typical hide and seek”

• Second Place: Bailey Porter, “ Beyond the nuclear family”

• Third Place: Valerie Rojas, “The sweeter side of success”

• Honorable Mention: Erin Zabarnick, “Joining the motor home cult”

• Honorable Mention: Jonathan Corral, “Kicking around the truth about Nixon”

Latest Stories

Related articles

Campus Times wins gold for journalism excellence

The Campus Times has won the Columbia Scholastic Press Association's Gold Medal award for overall journalism excellence for Newspaper/Online Hybrid publications for the 2022-2023 academic year. This puts the publication in the highest tier for college news outlets across the United States, once again. 

Welcome President Mahdavi! Here is our wish list

To do our part in contributing to these positive changes, we have compiled a wish list to inform Mahdavi about some of the changes and improvements we believe are most important.

Jashelle Ranson celebrated by ULV and friends

Jashelle Ranson, junior photography major, died unexpectedly Jan. 3. The news was released to the University of La Verne students and staff via email on Jan. 13 from Zandra Wagoner, interfaith chaplain. 

Campus Times, LeoFM among the nation’s top college media outlets

The University of La Verne’s communications department recently received top honors from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association and Broadcast Education Association for the works of its students and faculty in the 2020-2021 academic year.