Mayor Kendrick wins reelection

Christina Garcia
News Editor

La Verne Mayor Don Kendrick was re-elected mayor in a close race with challenger Tim Hepburn Tuesday.

Kendrick won by a small margin with 50.76 percent of the vote according to the preliminary election results released by the Los Angeles County Clerk.

Tim Hepburn received 49.24 percent of the votes.

Kendrick, who has already served four terms, will serve for another two-year term.

In addition to voting for mayor, La Verne residents also voted to fill two City Council seats.

The candidates were Robin Carder, Muir Davis, Matthew Lyons, Keith Garwick and George Karr.

Incumbent Carder was reelected with 31.42 percent of the vote. Carder received the highest percentage of votes in the City Council race.

Davis was elected to fill the other open City Council seat.

Davis was elected with 25.37 percent of the vote.

He will fill the seat vacated by Donna Redman.

Carder and Davis will serve as council members for a four-year term.

The oath of office is scheduled to be administered during the April 3 City Council meeting, said Terri Baker, assistant to City Manager Bob Russi.

The official election results will be certified by the Los Angeles County Clerk March 31, Baker said.

Christina Garcia can be reached at

Latest Stories

Related articles

La Verne pours it up at Wine Walk

La Verne hosted its 10th annual La Verne Wine Walk on Saturday. Residents enjoyed rich pours of red and white wines, as well as delicious foods from more than 30 local businesses in downtown La Verne.

La Verne offers alternative response calls

The San Gabriel Valley Crisis Assistance Response and Engagement Team began operations in the city of La Verne at the end of December 2023. Today the SGV CARE Team offers an alternative response to behavioral health-driven calls to reduce law enforcement workload. 

Gold Line construction underway

Construction on the Foothill Gold Line train station on Arrow Highway and E Street is now underway to connect La Verne to Pasadena and downtown Los Angeles as well as the San Gabriel Valley and Inland Empire.

La Verne names new police chief

The city of La Verne has appointed Capt. Samuel Gonzalez as the 23rd La Verne Police Department chief of police following the retirement of Police Chief Colleen Flores earlier this year.