Awards honor employees for time, dedication

by Alisha Rosas
Managing Editor

Various service awards were distributed Wednesday, May 17 to dedicated employees at the University of La Verne.

Al Clark, associate vice president of academic affairs, served as the master of ceremonies.

Awards were presented to recognize the hard work and time employees have given.

Claudio Muñoz, associate professor of accounting, and Diana Towles, secretary to the president, presented awards acknowledging employees who have worked for the University for five years.

Those honored were Elisabeth Anghel, Yolly Aquino, Claudia Bass, Bill Blackmur, Deborah Burris-Kitchen, Lani Dade, Cynthia Denne, Janis Dietz, Greg Ford, Ken Frank, Janet Heard, Clark Hitt, Barbara Jefferson, Saju Laskar, Ruth Lindhorst, Steve Maack, Larry Meyer, Suzi Miller, Charli Muell, Colleen Murray, Gonyung Park, Jerry Reyes, Laura Rich, Shane Rodrigues and Derek Vergara.

Lynn Stanton Riggs, director of the Learning Enhancement Center and Loretta Rahmani, dean of student affairs along with Brian Worley, director of facilities management recognized employees who have provided 10 years of service to the University.

Employees Teresa Bader Hall, Linda Bearman, Candace Bell, Shellie Dansby, Jana Ducret, Marcy Garcia, Beverly Gard, Kay Harrison, Alene Harrison, Jesse Overall, Maureen Pray, Peggy Purcell, Maria Reyes, Judi Stillwell, Randy Rubin, Binky San Juan, Liz Sterling and Linda Whitman were all honored with awards.

Greg Fast, professor of law, and Jim Manolis, dean for the School of Continuing Education, handed out awards for employees who have worked at ULV for 15 years.

Awards for such service were given to Pamela Priest Amor, Nelly Kazman, Avo Kechichian, Jack Meek, Patti Noreen and Millie Spencer.

President Stephen Morgan presented Aghop Der-Karabetian, Chuck Doskow and Arthur Gonchar for their service to the University for the last 20 years.

He also presented those who have worked for the University for over 25 years with awards of recognition.

Those awarded were Adeline Cardenas-Clague and Tom McGuire.

Dr. Morgan continued to recognize employees who have become a part of the University due to their many years of service by honoring George Arnold for his dedication for the last 35 years.

Dr. Morgan presented the Classified Employee of the Year award to Jack Ward, maintenance foreman. He also honored Steve Grey, chief financial officer, with the Administrative Employee of the year award and Stillwell, College of Law registrar, with the Professional Employee of the Year award.

Teacher of the Year Awards were presented to undergraduate Professor of Photography Gary Colby and to Graduate Associate Professor of Business and Global Studies Ibrahim Helou.

Part-Time Faculty of the Year awards were presented to Linda De Long and Bill Cook.

Alisha Rosas, Arts Editor
Alisha Rosas

Latest Stories

Related articles

Seasoned scholars share research tips

The La Verne Academy hosted its first lecture series of the semester, “Building and Maintaining a Successful Research Agenda: Ideas and Pitfalls,” Tuesday via Zoom. 

Education professor championed LGBTQ+ community

University of La Verne professor of education emeritus Dr. Jim Dunne died Nov. 20 in his home in Sedona, Arizona. He was 87 years old.

Business program prepares students for the future

The University of La Verne College of Business’s integrated business program offers students the opportunity to create a business plan, make their own company, obtain adequate funding, and sell their products with all proceeds going to local charities. 

Al Clark retires after 45 years with ULV

After more than 45 years of service, Al Clark, professor of humanities, head of the Honors Program and the International Studies Institute, will be retiring.