New ASULV leaders elected

Junior political science major Jackie Ku was elected Associated Students of the University of La Verne president and sophomore kinesiology major Justin Parnell as ASULV executive vice president in election results announced Wednesday afternoon. The two ran unopposed. 

“We anticipate with the style of leadership Justin and I are going after for more student representation and student activity,” Ku said.

Senators for each college were also elected. Junior educational studies and Spanish major Lesley Hernandez was elected for the LaFetra College of Education, senior economics and Spanish major Lesly Fuentes-Soriano and junior business administration major Christopher Marquez were elected senators for the College of Business and Public Management, and sophomore political science major Madeline Ruiz and freshman psychology major Alice Ochoa for the College of Arts and Sciences.

Seven senators at large were also elected. They are junior communications major Rudy Amaya, junior environmental ethics major Erik Bahnson, freshman kinesiology major Madalyn Carrasco, sophomore political science major Daisy Fuentes-Soriano, freshman business administration major Aina Inguito, freshman business administration major Roy Requena and junior political science major Jessica Santos.

—Brooke Grasso

Latest Stories

Related articles

First generation college students overcome unique obstacles

As a first-generation college student and an only child, my decision to go to college was not just for myself but also for my family. 

Flo Rida rocks the Fox Theater for annual Lavernapalooza

As another stressful spring semester draws to a close, students went wild at the annual Lavernapalooza concert with headliner artist Flo Rida, DJ Screwloose, openers Kid Ink and Oya Baby on May 2 at the Fox Theater in Pomona.

New pub at Barbara’s Place pours up local breweries

Barbara’s Place, in the Abraham Campus Center, has opened a pub for students and faculty who are 21 and older to enjoy beer and hard cider from local breweries and cider houses.

Three-year calendar proposal would streamline planning

The University of La Verne is in the process of adopting a new three-year calendar plan that administrators hope streamline planning and help the school run more efficiently.