3 interim safety directors named

The three lead campus safety officers, Laura Avalos, Chris Lockwood, and Jerry Espinoza, are serving in as interim campus safety directors, in succession, with Avalos currently running the show – following James Miyashiro, who left in June to take a position at the University of San Diego.

Jeff Clark, formerly the director of campus safety, took over Miyashiro’s position until he retired July 28.

Each interim director serves for two months, followed by the next, as they rotate into the lead position, Avalos said.

As lead officers, they supervise the safety officers’ performance of daily operations.

“I work with the community to develop and implement emergency evacuation plans of the great shakeout,” Avalos said.

“I organize conduct and evaluate evacuation drills for all campus buildings. I operate and maintain high safety for our visitors, our students, our staff.”

“Also, all leads are responsible for training all campus safety officers to inspect and maintain their equipment and anything that’s assigned to perform their responsibilities,” she added.

Espinoza covered the first term from July 1 to Aug. 31. Avalos took over on Sept. 3. Lockwood will take over Nov. 5. Avalos said that the three interim campus safety directors answer to David Keetle, interim senior director of campus safety operations.

Miyashiro had served in the position for 18 months before leaving June 23.

–Aryn Plax

Other Stories

Latest Stories

Related articles

$40 million loan to fund new ULV College of Health

The University of La Verne continues to expand into Ontario with plans to build a new College of Health and Community Well-Being, and a $40 million loan from the city of Ontario to fund it.

La Verne faces a rash of catalytic converter thefts

A series of catalytic converter thefts have occurred on or close to the University of La Verne’s campus recently. So far six cases have been reported to Campus Safety, with four of them occurring in campus lots or structures. 

La Verne faculty and staff pay lags behind inflation

In the past two years the rate of inflation has taken a sharp 7.5% increase, while staff and faculty at the University of La Verne have not seen a general, or cost of living, pay raise to correspond with it. 

Nursing program passes important hurdle

The University of La Verne Faculty Senate this week voted to approve a new bachelor of science in nursing program, moving this piece of the planned College of Health one step closer to becoming a reality.